1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My First Broody questions!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chickenfever, Apr 21, 2009.

1. chickenfever

chickenfever Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2008
    Arizona
    OK, This is my first year to chickens and I have my first broody, a BO. She has been setting on some eggs since Friday, so about 5 days. I'm super excited! (even though I have 21 seven week old chicks in another coop [​IMG], I think all you addicts can relate) I just have a few questions:

1. She decided to make her nest on the floor of the coop right in front of the nest boxes. She has 11 coopmates including a cochin roo. Will this be a problem? Should I move her to a secluded spot? And how do I do that, just kind of scoop everything up and tried to move in all, or just the eggs?

2. I don't think the roo is completely doing his job. I have only been noticing about 20% fertility in my eggs. I don't really want a bunch of rotten eggs in a few weeks. Should I candle at some point to remove the non-developing eggs? If I were to get some fertile eggs from someone would I be able to swap them out and have her still set on them until they hatched?

Thanks so much for taking the time to help me out!

2. chicklady63

chicklady63 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2009
    Isn't it exciting when a hen goes broody? I found it fascinating when my first one did!