My goose is sitting on eggs do I need to isolate her from the flock?

almostalwayshome

In the Brooder
8 Years
Nov 19, 2011
Massachusetts
I have four geese, well, three geese and a gander. One of the geese is sitting on several eggs in the little house that I shut them all up in at night. Do I need to separate the goose with the eggs from the others as hatching time approaches? Will the other geese hurt the goslings? I've never done this before. I'd love some experienced advice.

I don't separate mine. All geese and ganders seem to be genetically programed to be super parents and will protect and nurture all goslings, even those that aren't their own.

Naturally, you must observe carefully to make sure you don't have the rare rogue who behaves badly.

Don't seperate them, but make sure you mark the eggs she's been setting and check every day for new ones in case the other girls are still laying. They will ALL raise any goslings that hatch as a flock. Its really a beautiful thing- congrats on the broody!

Well, I have two geese that hatched goslings on the same days, and one of the geese definately feels like she should have all of the goslings -- I put up a wire dog fence between them, so they could stay seperate and not trample the babies fussing over who had which. I think that will calm down when the babies get older and stronger . . .

Well, I have two geese that hatched goslings on the same days, and one of the geese definately feels like she should have all of the goslings -- I put up a wire dog fence between them, so they could stay seperate and not trample the babies fussing over who had which. I think that will calm down when the babies get older and stronger . . .