1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My RIR eggs.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by holliewould, Sep 9, 2008.

1. holliewould

holliewould Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2008
    Planet Earth
    I'm just new at chickens and eggs and want a place to document the progress of my ladies. And what better place then BYC?

One of my 5.5 month old RIR's laid her second egg today, 28 hours after her very first egg at 3pm. It's a little bit bigger then her first egg. It's also quite a bit browner then her first. We are in the middle of Ike's wrath yet she laid anyway. What a good girl.

Here's a pic of both eggs she laid.
    [​IMG]

Can't wait to see what tomorrow brings.

2. DDRanch

DDRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2008
    California
    Good girl is right. When is breakfast going to be served?

Anne

3. holliewould

May 15, 2008
    Planet Earth
    Just a little notation in case anyone is remotely interested in my rambling. My dang girl didn't lay today. I was expecting an egg at or around 7pm this evening to no avail. I assumed every 28hrs calculating from the time of her first two ova. I am hoping I'll get a present before I let them out of the coop in the early morn. Also, there was no "It hurts, it hurts" sound today either. I'm extremely disappointed I didn't get me an egg. Still waiting on the other spoiled rotten brat to lay. Anyway, here's a pic of my current layer, and which I learned today will NEVER go broody.

[​IMG]

DDRanch, I will have a pic tomorrow of those eggs sunny side up first thing in the morning for ya. I got the perfect little egg pan action going on here.

4. onthespot

onthespot Deluxe Dozens

Mar 29, 2008
    Riverside/Norco, CA