My Yellow Lab & Chickens?

Chopaka81

Chirping
11 Years
Apr 18, 2011
#1) I am a complete newbie, never owned a chicken, never even built a coop. Construction on the coop begins this weekend.
#2) I have a high octane field trial yellow lab and I am concerned about her and chickens. She is a outstanding duck and pheasant dog.

With #1 & #2 above in mind, I am looking for recomendations on how to introduce my Lab to the chicken and keep the feathers where the belong - on the chickens. Reba (my lab) is a hunting dog and her kingdom is about to have some new residents. Soft mouth that she has, I am very concerned about the safety of my birds.

The only plus I see to this, is that my lab will keep other predators away.

Looking for some advise on introducing my lab to the chickens.

Thanks, Chopaka

I am also a newbie, with a big yellow lab. I wasn't thinking however and went and introduced one of the chicks to Willy. I found myself talking to him just like I had done the kids. I kept saying, "Be nice, be nice, be nice." Willy, when excited shows his toothy smile. He was showing it a lot as he got closer and closer with his muzzle. Then I realized that when I give him a treat, I always say, "Take it nice, take it nice." I decided that was enough chick and pup socializing for now. He hasn't been all that interested in the chicks but I'm sure when they are a little larger, he'll be a little more interested.
When you find out how to introduce them without inviting your yellow lab to eat a chick, let me know.
wink.png