Mystery 3 week old....

jshreck

In the Brooder
7 Years
Jan 14, 2013
South Central Wisconsin
I bought four "easter egger pullets from someone two weeks ago- One is an easter egger but has far better odds of being a roo than a pullet. One is a RIR (hopefully a pullet??). One is apparently a Jersey Giant (sex TBD) ...This is #4; now I'm no chicken expert but odds are that this isn't an EE---- could someone be so kind as to give me an indication as to what it is.....

Feet are a pearly pinkish color with dark wash down the center.

Could it be a barred rock with off color feet? I did a google search for barred rock and one of the first that came up actually did have pink feet.
hu.gif
Sweet little chick!

Last edited:
Hmm. It's funny you should say that, I've been wondering the same thing. My first batch of chicks (first in my life) are currently 6 weeks old BR pullets. This sweet little chick is a lot lighter than them and is feathering differently-- I feel like my barred rocks started black and very slowly got barred (closer to 4-5 weeks) this one has been barred for about a week now. That has me wondering is this a BR roo?? But I can't find a comprarable picture to a young BR roo. The feet also had me second guessing it being a BR- as you mentioned they're typically yellow, but I guess you say (goole says) there are others out there with pink feet? I'm so confused, I just want to know what this baby is.
hmm.png