Name for my suburban "farm", if you could call it that!?

mjolly

In the Brooder
11 Years
Apr 7, 2008
Hi all, I have read several posts regarding naming your property/farm/etc. I love reading all the posts on BYC and have learned so much from all of you. This is my first year of poutry and I am loving it!

The posts with farm names are wonderful and I really want to do the same as many of my pullets will soon be laying and we will be selling some of the eggs. I am in hopes of getting some labels to put on my egg cartons. I am having some difficulty coming up with a name though. I will list several "suggestions" or options that have been provided by others or some that I have thought up. I would appreciate your input or suggestions also.

1) There was a suggestion on another thread to use a geographical feature in the name. I live in the middle of a suburban area, not much of a geographical feature around here. There are two large maple trees on the south side of my lot.
"Maple Feather Farm" Feathers since we have birds (quail, turkey and chickens).

2) I have a large garden and quite a few "creatures" including chickens, 2 rabbits, a bee hive, a bat house, a dog, some quail, a turkey who recently went to freezer camp, and my son's tarantula. It was recently suggested that I call it "Marva's Managerie". I am not fond of this one though. Not exactly large enough to be called a "Hobby Farm" either really!

3) I have an interesting last name so tried to incorporate that into the name.
"Jolly Acres", but I live on a lot less than 1/4 acre so that would not really work either.
"Lazy J farm", "Flying J Farm"- not my favorites either.
And yes, we get a lot of X-mas commets like "Have a jolly x-mas!"
And need I mention the "Jolly Rancher" refrence (candy)....that one has been suggested too, although I don't think it totally fits either as my lot size and amount of animals, etc is far from being a "ranch".