Need a knife...

Coops Dad

Crowing
May 10, 2020
too close to Waco, TX
I've been processing chickens for four or five years using a cheap Uncle Henry's gutting knife. It's mild steel and I can put a really nice edge on it but it dulls very quickly. On top of that it doesn't feel good in my hand, having a handle that feels clunky and square, and it gets fairly slick when things get wet.

I usually put a .22 into the brain and immediately slit the neck arteries. Once drained, they get de-feathered. I separate the gullet and trachea from the neck then use a set of Gerber bone shears to take the neck. After that, I use the crappy Uncle Henry to trim off the tail/oil gland and cut around the cloacal opening but it's getting burdensome to keep struggling with a disagreeable blade. From the bloodletting to the gutting work to the separation of joints, breasts, etc., I need a new and better blade.

Points for lower cost, ease of acquisition and quality of the edge. What's your go-to knife for processing chickens- manufacturer, model, blade profile, etc.?

I've been processing chickens for four or five years using a cheap Uncle Henry's gutting knife. It's mild steel and I can put a really nice edge on it but it dulls very quickly. On top of that it doesn't feel good in my hand, having a handle that feels clunky and square, and it gets fairly slick when things get wet.

I usually put a .22 into the brain and immediately slit the neck arteries. Once drained, they get de-feathered. I separate the gullet and trachea from the neck then use a set of Gerber bone shears to take the neck. After that, I use the crappy Uncle Henry to trim off the tail/oil gland and cut around the cloacal opening but it's getting burdensome to keep struggling with a disagreeable blade. From the bloodletting to the gutting work to the separation of joints, breasts, etc., I need a new and better blade.