Need advice on adopted goat

stilwellchick

Songster
12 Years
Jun 16, 2007
Stilwell, KS
So I adopted a hard luck case Pygmy doe about 4 years old. She is a bit thin and her coat is very dry and rough. She looks like a junk yard dog compared to my others that have thick, silky, luxurious coats. Any ideas what to give her to get her in good condition. Mine eat Purina goat chow, pasture and free choice alfalfa hay. I gave her a Selenium shot and a Covexin 8 booster and wormed her with Safeguard. Thanks for any ideas.

I'm not a goat expert, but sounds like you have it all under control - given the good food you have on hand she'll be nice and chubby in no time.

Just make sure she can get to the food and the other goats don't try keep her away - perhaps feed her alone if she is in fact housed with the others.

This girl was the same deal for us:

http://www.helmsteadstables.com/Paula.htm

We did like you - got her UTD on everything, B complex and just put her on the same feed program the other goats here are on. She gained fast - despite being pregnant. When we got her, she MAYBE weighed 30 lbs. Now she's so hefty I can't lift her onto my stanchion. We've had her a little over a year.

My breeder friend said that if a goat has a ratty or rough, dull coat it is often due to a lack of copper in their diet. Thus, you want to make sure that she's getting enough copper to help her coat.

Are you offering free choice loose minerals?

Sounds like she's really fortunate to have ended up with you!
big_smile.png

Yes, they have Purina minerals which has the highest copper on the market free choice. She doesn't seem to like the goat chow. I have tried feeding her seperately too. Maybe she is still in relocation shock and will eat more later. She is still doing a lot of hollering! Thanks eveyone for your replies.