Need advice on "Sick" Chickens and next steps

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by SLChick, Oct 4, 2016.

1. SLChick

SLChick New Egg

Oct 4, 2016
    I'm a newbie to raising chickens and need some advice. We currently have 9 hens. After a predator got two of our girls, we brought in two more from a gal who was getting rid of her flock. In hindsight, and learning through this forum, I realize that was a big mistake. Approx. a month after getting these two, our chickens started to sneeze, appeared lethargic, stop laying eggs, and some had goopy eyes. They continued to eat and drink...but not as much as normally. We treated with Tylan orally. They seemed to improve, and them began molting. A week after the last dose, we found one chicken dead in the coop. I was concerned that we would find more, but so far no others have passed in a month. However, a few girls are starting to sneeze again. I notice that about a week ago. They are eating a drinking great and there doesn't seem to be any goopy eyes (yet). Since original onset, egg production is still low. I may find and egg or two total each week. I can't seem to find anyone nearby that does testing. I have had a healthy flock, with great egg production (even in winter) for a year and a half prior to this illness.