Need help identifying predator (ducks)

SirWaffle

In the Brooder
Jun 12, 2021
I'm new to raising ducks. We have a big pond and we made a floating island for the ducks to nest but they are really stupid so they like to nest on the shore, so with are next batch well be making an actual pin, but before then we would like to figure out the type of predator thats killing them.
We have lost 7 ducks in the last few month and were only able to find 2 of the bodys. One was found on the shore with feathers on his neck and back ripped out and his muscles ripped off his neck. He was some how still alive by the morning, but we had to put him down as he couldn't move his neck.
The second one we found was the last one. We just figured out how to get her to use the floating island, but we found out that wasn't the best idea. While she was laying her eggs on the island (very early morning) something some how snuck up on her and killed her. Her feather were also ripped from her neck and back near her neck but no meat was taken.
Possible predator that I can think of (second one)
Raccoon, but all her eggs were fine and nothing was eaten. And it had to swim to get there so she could have heard it.
Feral cat was seen staking out the pond the same night, but the island is floating with 8-10 ft of water on all sides
Owl, but nothing was eaten and she was under a small roof and surrounded by pillars.
Bobcats, huge snapping turtle?, other predators found around waller Texas.
Owls probably the most likely but it doesn't make since do owls kill for sport???

Owls generally eat the head first. Description of the kills does sound like a raptor, but I wonder about the possibility that it might be a mink.

What type of little critter would carry small rocks (about the size of a bird egg) into my chicken feeder? I do notice a lot more water gone but not necessarily much more feed? Very strange?? Thanks for any input.