Need Help Identifying

stormhasit

In the Brooder
11 Years
12 Years
Jan 25, 2008
Texas
This morning when I left for work all the birds were fine. When I get home I have one bird (out of 17) dead with the head and part of the crop area gone. The rest of her was untouched.

I first thought either possom or coon - but they only come out during the night... any ideas?

Weasel or mink? I think that fits their MO but I am a newbie so I am sure you'll get more concrete info from others. They can get through VERY small holes. Good luck!

Quote:
welcome-byc.gif

I think coon, I have seen them out during the day before...... Unless they free range and were loose, then I'd say hawk

I've never known of either the weasel or mink in my area - I am in North Central Texas northwest of Fort Worth area.

If this helps any.

It very well could have been a weasel or mink. They squeeze through just about anything. Although, my ducks would always gang up on the mink at our old house, and chase it away - I don't know if chickens would do the same thing or not. A weasel would be a little larger than a mink as far as I know.

I would say coon and yes they will come out during the day. I know had 4 come after me and my son in the early afternoon. They were fearless, we didn't get hurt but all 4 were located to a small shallow grave in the back field.

I was really glad of the pet taxi lady down the road that day, I called and her and her son came and dispatched them right quick.

Storm,

I thought I would throw in my 2 cents here. I have read several other posts, and seen where some have been plagued with something killing their birds, when the cage wire was very small, and no way that a larger animal could get in. I wonder if this is the culprit in some cases. I did not see where you gave any coop statistics, so I do not know if this fits your scenario or not, but think you will find this interesting as I did.