Need help with Resume real quick... thanks!

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by WhiteMountainsRanch, Dec 7, 2011.

1. WhiteMountainsRanch

WhiteMountainsRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2010
    Sandy Eggo, CA
    Two questions regarding my much needed updating on my resume...

1. Should it be in first person such as: I am a dedicated and hardworking individual who has a great deal of ambition. I have extensive experience in customer service, love to learn, and I am always up for a challenge. I get along well with others, while also working efficiently on my own. I am seeking a position where I can develop and excel while giving my best to an employer.

(and how does that sound?) too personal?

Or should it be in 3rd person like this: A high-energy, experienced sales associate with a solid track record of performance in consumer goods and retail businesses. Key strengths include the ability to meet and exceed goals/targets, a knack for connecting with decision makers and the ability to transfer the secrets of sales and account management to others. Excellent presentation, negotiation, closing, and follow through skills.

(and is this better, or should I include both?) too impersonal?

And my second question is this: How long should a resume be? Everything I have heard says one to two pages. It also says that the employer wants the last 10 years of work history. If I give that much my resume ends up being four pages, unless I SEVERELY limit the duties of the job...

I may be able to squeeze some stuff out and make it three... Ugh I dunno!!! I've been working on it all day and it's driving me crazy! [​IMG]

I need helps!

Thank you!

Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  2. SueSteeves

SueSteeves Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2010
    Southern California
    Good evening WhiteMountainsRanch!

Well as a person who has revised my resume many times, and a person who has reviewed resumes when hiring employees here is my 2 cents.