1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

need some help with sex think it is pollish chick

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by little blue, Jul 29, 2010.

1. little blue

little blue Chillin' with my Orps

Jul 11, 2010
    Mansfield, CT
    we only have this little one traded one of my 8 week old roos for him when he was 2 days old any guesses on sex or if i have the right breed.it is real pretty.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    thanks for any help you can give [​IMG]

2. askjcm2005

askjcm2005 Songster

Jul 9, 2010
    San Diego
    I am not an expert but it definitely is a Polish. A golden laced polish to be exact. I have seen lots of pictures... I had a lotta people say mine was a Roo then 2 people gave me hope it may be a girl because there roo looked different. Then I found 1 that looked almost identicle to mine and its a hen....

I would guess female if I was basing it from mine. Here is a picture of mine:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

And here is the website where I found a hen that looks like mine, you can see the Roo too... (scroll down to golden laced polish) most have a slicked back crest but 1 of them has the crazier crest...

http://www.cacklehatchery.com/polishpage.html

3. sred98

sred98 Songster

Jan 18, 2008
    Oklahoma
    Quote:Your Polish looks like a roo...? [​IMG] In the bottom pic it sure looks like saddle feathers. [​IMG] Also the head feathers are pointy on the ends, not fluffy and rounded. I think that both of you might have roos.

[​IMG]

Shelly

4. drdoolittle

drdoolittle Songster

Jul 30, 2010
    NE Indiana
    Can't help with the sex problem, but I think it is a hen. [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

5. acid_chipmunk

acid_chipmunk Polish Silkies d'Uccles O my!

Mar 29, 2010