New at this... Chick / coop/ rooster questions

kearstin17

Chirping
7 Years
Apr 28, 2012
Grand junction
so my chicks are around 8 weeks and since it has been in the 90's during the day & high 50's at night I put them in there coop 3 days ago. My question is.... Is it normal for the chicks to spend more time in there coop then in there run? I am new at this and have never had chickens before. Also one of my chicks is a rooster and since they have been in the coop he has started attacking the other chicks. He walks up behind them and just starts pecking and pulling out there tail feathers. He was never like this till they were put in the coop. Is this normal? and what can I do about it? I am not keeping the rooster I just am having a hard time finding someone to take him.

Mine often do the same thing when they are young and first move to the coop. Once they have gotten settled they'll start exploring their area more and more.

As for the one who is pecking and pulling out feather's? I have no tolerance for that generally. If he should start drawing blood and the others see it and start pecking you could have a whole nasty problem start up that is hard to break. If it were me I'd pull him out of there for a while, a few days maybe, then try putting him back in. He'll have to reestablish his place in the flock and may not be so uppity. If he starts up with the pecking again then I'd keep him out until have found him a place to go, if that's your intention anyway.

Hanging out in the coop during day? Do they have good deep shade available in the run?