New Chicken owner in Texas!

MarysChickens

In the Brooder
7 Years
Mar 13, 2012
Grandview Texas
This is my very first time owning chickens(my aunt owns them so I've been around them and sadly played with them then turn around and eat them, sorry) and I've been reading on BYC for a few days now(my sister in law told be about this site on Saturday) and for the past few months i have been doing research on how to raise chickens. I originally was going to get 2 Buff Orpingtons but i read on several different posts(sorry i cant remember who's it was) and they said that they are not heat tolerant(even though i read somewhere online that they are). I live in Texas(about 30mins south of Ft Worth) and our summers get REALLY hot (last year we never got out of the 100s) but then at the same time the year before our winter was really bad(for 2 weeks i couldn't go to work cause the ice and snow was so bad plus we never made it to the 30s the whole winter). I've already started on the coop and run for them, its probably over kill but it is gonna be 16ft long by 8ft wide and 6ft tall with a covered roof and the coop will be inside the run and the coop will be 4ft wide by 4ft long by 4ft tall and be 2ft off the ground with windows all the way around that can be open or closed plus vent holes at the very top that can be open and closed(i know its gonna be a little bit over kill for just 2-4 chickens haha) So my question is should i still get the Orpingtons or is there any other heat hardy and sometimes cold hardy chickens that i should get? I value every ones opinions and experiences(especially since i have none) and whatever you can tell me that will help.
Thanks so much, Mary

I live about an hour south of you. I have a BO and she handles the heat just fine. Welcome to BYC!!!
frow.gif