New chicken to flock

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by chickenmamakimberly, Aug 14, 2018.

1. chickenmamakimberly

chickenmamakimberly Chirping

Aug 6, 2018
    i have 5 -7 1/2 week old chicks. I want to add another Pullet. Do I need to do this gradually at this age?

2. Chick-N-Fun

Chick-N-Fun Almy Acres Farm

Jun 26, 2014
    Corning, NY
    Absolutely! Integration at any age takes time, especially if they are different ages/sizes. How old Is the new pullet? It is always difficult integrating one bird. Can you get a friend for her as well?

3. chickenmamakimberly

Aug 6, 2018
    Well, here is the thing. I have 2 EE mutts one of which appears to be a cockerel and I have 3 Polish/Silkie cross 1 of which is a cockerel. The 2 little Roos are already fighting so I know I will have to give one up. I could technically add 2 more Pullets if that will work better. I’m new to all of this.

4. chickenmamakimberly

Aug 6, 2018
    And they are all the same age.

5. Chick-N-Fun

Chick-N-Fun Almy Acres Farm

Jun 26, 2014
    Corning, NY
    If they are all the same age, I would still still do a see but don’t touch method for awhile and then eventually integrate with supervision. If you free range at all that is the best time to integrate. And yes, I would definitely get 2 pullets, not just one! Good luck! Keep us posted!

chickenmamakimberly likes this.
  6. ellenscoop

ellenscoop Chirping

Feb 21, 2015
    Indiana
    chickenmamakimberly likes this.
  7. Mrs. K

Mrs. K Crowing

Nov 12, 2009
    western South Dakota
    one bird is a very hard introduction, everyone one knows that is the stranger and will get their pecks in. The more you add at one time the better. If this is your first year with chickens, go ahead and get rid of both roosters and add 3 pullets. An all hen flock is best the first year. Roosters takes some experience.

8. rosemarythyme

rosemarythyme Free Ranging

Jul 3, 2016
    Pac NW
    My Coop