New chickens being picked on and not laying eggs

chickentender8

In the Brooder
7 Years
Sep 19, 2012
Hi, I am new to chickens. I got 9 chicks in April, all were supposed to be hens, but 5 were roosters. Found good homes for the roosters, and had 4 hens left, 3 Australorps and one California white. A week ago we got 2 Rhode Island Reds and 2 Ameraucanas.
They are almost 2 months older than my other hens, the Rhode Island Reds are laying but the Ameraucanas are not. My australorps are picking on the ameraucanas pretty badly. Could that be why they are not laying? The australorps and the california white are not laying yet, I am hoping that by October they will be old enough and will start laying. Any advice would be great!

Did you pen the new birds next to the first ones for a while so they could get used to each other or did you pop them right in with the existing birds? If so, that generally is a guarantee'd fight. And yes, stress on the new birds can cause them to stop laying. When I have new birds to integrate I section off part of the run for them and they sleep in the coop in a wire dog crate. This allows everybody to get used to seeing the new birds but they can't attack them. I do this for as long as it takes for everybody to settle down. Once the new has worn off then there should just be some pecking order scuffles when they do join the flock.

Once a hen or hen's get's it in her head to constantly attack a new bird it can be hard to break them of that. You may have to pull the attacker out for a few days, keep her separate, then try letting her rejoin the flock. She will have to reestablish herself in the pecking order. Sometimes this works, sometimes they go right back to the same behavior.