WVduckchick

🐓🦆For the Birds!🦆🐓
Premium Feather Member
9 Years
Feb 9, 2015
West Virginia
My Coop
My Coop
Hello! I'll try to keep my intro brief.... but I can get windy sometimes. Sorry :)

First, I love this site. I'm new to having my own chickens and ducks, but have a very experienced sister-in-law. She and my husband were raised with some farm animals and she has a good sized, assorted flock now. He has always wanted us to get some, but I have resisted. Well, we have a "camp" that we spend most weekends and several weeks throughout the year. Its less than an hour from our home, so we can go there any time. We built a nice sized pond a few years ago and I always wanted some ducks for the pond. So finally, my sister-in-law said she had some extra ducks and brought 3 to me. She also brought 5 roosters, because she was getting too many! We were not quite prepared for the roosters, but decided it would be good to determine the level of predators in the area. First week, we lost one rooster. No idea what happened to him. No signs of anything. She said he was kinda a loner anyway. Following week, lost another, with some feathers scattered about, but no carcass. By this time we had built a coop, but had no way to close it up at night. Third week, found a dead carcass -- from all indications, a racoon was the culprit. So we built Fort Knox of a run (with alot of help from this site) Final two roosters have been great for the past few weeks. Yeah! (The ducks, by the way, have been perfectly happy on the pond, except we've had to manually break the ice a few times to keep them an opening)