1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New Member from Texas

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by hyak107, Jan 31, 2017.

1. hyak107

hyak107 New Egg

Jan 31, 2017
    Hello,

New member here from Bertram, TX. I'm in the process of setting up a coop and am hoping to leverage the more experienced folks on this site as I'm new to raising chickens.

Some beginner questions; I live on an acre and have two small sections that are already fenced. Each section is roughly 200 square feet. I was thinking of starting off with a half dozen pullets, would 200 square feet be enough, or should I expand it to 400?

I have six dogs (I'm a sucker for rescues). They are all adults and will need to be kept away from the chickens, so the rest of the property is off limits unless I put the dogs up.

Anyway, I have a lot of questions floating around in my head but figured I'd start off with that one :).

Steven

2. TheKindaFarmGal

TheKindaFarmGal Overrun With Chickens

May 4, 2016
    Somewhere in the Universe
    Welcome to BYC, Steven!

You can't have too much space for chickens - the more the better. 200 sq ft would definitely be enough. If I were you, I'd expand the run now, so it's easier in the future if you get more chickens.

Glad you joined us!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas