New Member lealea

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lealea44, Nov 24, 2014.

1. lealea44

lealea44 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 23, 2014
    Headland, AL
    Hi, I'm a chicken newbie wannabe. I've been begging for chickens for Christmas for 6 long years. I've finally been informed that Santa will be bringing me a coop and chickens. I need any and all help I can get from anyone. My fiance is planning on building the coop with a concrete bottom and footer. I understand only a few basics 4' per bird inside run and a little less in the coop. I want about 8 chickens. Should i start with fewer? I live in extreme south Alabama. Temps are sometimes in 20's in winter (not too often) and very often in 90's in summer. He is planning on placing the pen next to the existing barn so we will be able to run electricity if necessary. He is also planning on roofing the coop and 1/2 of the run for shade.I only have one very large Oak tree on the property and a medium size popcorn tree. If the pen should be under a tree please let me know??? Questions are: shouldn't the run be dirt? location, location?? Building materials (we have predators around: coyotes, hawks ect.) ? All equipment i will possibly need? chicks or hatch my own? types of feed, scratch etc? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. I would especially like to hear from anyone that lives in the deep south about their experiences and any problems they have encountered here with our varying temps and predators. i so want this to be a pleasant and super fun experience.

Sincerely,

lealea[​IMG]

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
  3. lealea44

lealea44 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 23, 2014
    Headland, AL
    ThankS bunches!

4. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you
    Hi :welcome