New owners chicken bullying issues. Help and advice, please.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by milniesmum, Oct 14, 2014.

1. milniesmum

milniesmum New Egg

May 30, 2014
    Bucks Cross, Devon. UK
    Hello lovely people at BYC

I'm quite new to the whole hen keeping thing. We used to have hens when i was a child, but lots of years have passed since then, and ive only just got round to having the space to get some for myself.

We originally had 4 hybrids who came at the same time and got on well, we then acquired some "rescue hens" whiich arrived about 2-3 months ago. There are only 2 and they both arrived looking a bit bald and bedraggled. We kept them separate from our other girls, but so they could see one another and run alongside each other with just wire in between.

Unfortunately one of the rescue birds went lame, she got over it after a couple of weeks, by which time we slowly integrated all the birds. There didnt seem to be any issues and feathers were growing back fine. The girl who had been lame didn't seem to hang round close to the rest of the flock, but there were no problems and they all seemed to be ok together.

A couple of days ago when I let them free in the morning I found that my previously-lame, rescue bird had been pecked mercilessly and not only had her new feathers been pulled out, but blood had been drawn. I have been keeping a close eye on proceedings and the other birds really seem to have suddenly developed an issue with her. Does this seem to be cannibalism, pecking order establishment or something else to those of you with more experience than me??