New to all of this

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mikilee, Oct 15, 2014.

1. mikilee

mikilee Out Of The Brooder

Oct 15, 2014
    HI! I am new to chickens and forums! I moved onto a farm about a month ago and with the house I also acquired a peacock and some chickens. The chickens are free range. There is a coop on the property but I have not seen them use it, they seem to prefer to go under the porch.

I have no idea on the breed although my research so far might point to Easter Eggers. I have 2 roosters that are dark brown with tan neck/head. 2 dark brown hens, 1 white hen, 1 tan hen, 1 mottled dark brown and tan hen and one dark brown bird that I have not decided if it is a hen or rooster (I admit, I know NOTHING about chickens).

This past Saturday one of our hens, the mottled one, came out for breakfast and had 4 chicks in tow!

In one months time I have went from someone that HATED birds to a fanatic about my chickens.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
  3. mikilee

Oct 15, 2014
    Thank you for the pointers! I will try to get better pictures of them tonight to post in the forum about breed and gender. The learning center is probably where I will be spending a lot of time! [​IMG]

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

What a cute flock! Mountain Peeps has left you with a link to the learning center. Lots of good articles on all the aspects of keeping your new flock. And if you can, get them trained to sleeping in the coop. Once the predators find your birds, you can lose them all.

Good luck with your flock and we do welcome you to our flock!

5. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California