New to BYC - Hello!

mumsthesiren

Hatching
8 Years
Jun 5, 2011
Two lovely chickens fell into our laps unexpectedly about a week ago. The prior owner said her landlord wouldn't let her keep them, and since we're in a house and have a large property she asked us to take them. She gave us a baggie with food (but said she didn't know the name of it), said they weren't sure on the age but knew they were young and then something about them being made by artificial insemination.. ?? I'm new to being a chicken mummy and would love to know a few things.

1. What does that mean exactly, as far as chickens are concerned... "artificial insemination"?

2. What sort of chickens are they?

3. Male or female?

4. How old do they appear to be?

5. What should I feed them?

Thank you so much for any tips, advice and answers to these questions.
smile.png

http://www.flickr.com/photos/productofhippielove/5820155786/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/productofhippielove/5819593353/

Welcome!

You have cute chickies . . . I'd say the black and white speckled one looks like a barred rock chicken -- I have several that looked just like her - she looks like a hen to me. I'm not sure about the white and black little one -- might be an Easter Egger -- we had one that looked like that (we called it Owl) and the puffs on it's face make it look like it might be bearded. It could be a rooster - doesn't have much of a comb, but the tail feathers look a bit longer and curlier. I don't know on that one.

They look about 10 - 12 weeks to me, since they have most of their feathers.