New To BYC

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lisa81, Sep 13, 2016.

1. Lisa81

Lisa81 Just Hatched

Sep 8, 2016
    Hello,
    I live in Phoenix, AZ and I am new to joining this site but I have used BYC for some very useful information about hatching eggs. Everyone here is very nice and informative. I have hatched 5 out of 7 eggs that are supposed to be 2 Olive Eggers and 3 Black Copper Marans. I also have several other chicks I ordered through MyPetChicken and more I'm waiting on from ChickenScratchPoultry. Those will be Chocolate Orpingtons and Lavender Orpingtons. I am ending up with so many chicks because out or my first order, the Lavender Orpington got her eye pecked by one of the black chicks and she ended up dying since she refused to eat on her own after the incident. That normally would be the end of it but she was for my daughter and she took such good care of her chick while her eye was healing. My daughter is 10 years old, would wake up in the middle of the night to feed her chick and she wouldn't eat until her chick did. Since she surprised me with how well she took care of her chick, I agreed to buy her another one but they are so hard to find and the only place they were still available for a reasonable price required a 16 minimum order.

I am going to be selling the extras since I had to order so many chicks, I just need to get to 20 posts before I can put them up for sale.

Do you guys know if ChickenScratchPoultry is a good breeder, they don't really consider themselves a hatchery and the pictures they have on their site are of some gorgeous Lavender Orpingtons and they are supposedly from the Hink-JC bloodline.

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas