New to chicken raising. Need to find a dewormer quick!

positivepolly1892

In the Brooder
Aug 13, 2019
Hi, everyone! I am pretty new to raising chickens. I have had 3 hens for the past 2 years, but recently added a few more, and now I'm up to 20 in my flock, (my 3 laying hens, 2 bantams, 2 guineas, and 13 now pullets). I live in North Carolina (United States), and the area I love in is notorious for parasites because the region I live in is very tropical.
My question is regarding dewormers.
One of my laying hens was acting sickly for about a week. I finally got her to poop in front of me one day, and noticed 3 quite large roundworms. I immediately wormed the entire flock by adding piperazine to their water. Within a few days, she was back to her old self. She is now acting like she is getting sick again (laying around, separates herself from the flock, won't eat much, and her poop is watery). I also want to point out that since then, I have been adding DE to their feed, and I sprinkle it in their chicken area and coops in hopes to prevent any further issues.
I have read several of the forums on here, but no one seems to have one simple answer. One person says Wazine, while another says not to use that and to use Valbazen, while another says to not use any of that and to use pumpkin. At this point, I'm thinking all natural is out of the question. I'm going to go with "chemicals" and then I'll go with an all natural way in the future. I don't have the money to rush her to the vet, AND buy a $50 dewormer. Times are a bit tough right now. I'm quite positive she has worms again. So, my question is: what is a very good, but not very expensive (under $50) general/all-purpose de-wormer?

Last edited:
I don't know the answer to your question, but I wouldn't waste my money on DE.