New to chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Gypsydals, Aug 30, 2014.

1. Gypsydals

Gypsydals Out Of The Brooder

Aug 30, 2014
    Hi everyone. I am new to chickens. Just brought home some meat chickens today, along with some Isa browns. I have been wanting to raise my own chickens for a while and now I have the chance to do so. So I look forward to reading all the information on here.

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Welcome to BYC. Will you have separate areas for the layers and meaties?

Meat birds tend to stay at feeders and will push others out. They have to eat large quantities to support their very rapid growth, and have to be processed before their heart & legs give out.

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided to join our flock. Drumstick dive has made a very good point. You should raise the Isa Browns and the Cornish cross in separate coops and runs. We always butchered our Cornish cross at 8 weeks. If you wait too far beyond that, they begin to have serious health problems due to their abnormal growth rates. If your Isa Browns don't have to compete with the Cornish cross, it will be much easier to meet their nutritional needs and they will be egg laying machines. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck in getting your meat and eggs.

4. Gypsydals

Gypsydals Out Of The Brooder

Aug 30, 2014