New to chickens!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mphkim, Mar 29, 2015.

1. mphkim

mphkim New Egg

Mar 28, 2015
    Hello, I have been doing a lot of research on chickens. I never had birds as a pet and currently have two shelter cats. I have learned a lot and have decided to adopt three ISA Browns ex-battery caged hens in July. I am having a chicken tractor built for me from a guy in San Diego. Found Bird vet in my area and learning chickens come with expensive stuff! So what I was wondering as I noticed when I volunteered at a chicken adoption event recently they are pretty dirty. So how soon after can I give them a bath. Don't want to shock or traumatize them since they are already traumatized to begin with but don't want them starting their new life with dirty bottoms!

2. cluckcluckgirl

cluckcluckgirl Queen of the Coop Premium Member

Jun 16, 2012
    Tending to my chickens
    [​IMG] I'm not an expert on chicken baths, but this site has many wonderful articles about them.

Glad you joined! [​IMG]

3. saulsberry

saulsberry Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2015
    Virginia
    Hello,
    My experience with chickens is minimal but My MIL gave us her flock when we moved to Hickory and we used to bathe the hens with baby shampoo when they got messy in the swamp free-ranging during the day, and were fighting off mites and over breeding spots on their backs from the roos.. I dont think its good for their feathers to bathe them too often, so you could do it immediately when you get them, if its absolutely necessary, then just let them be chickens and get dirty. Some dirt helps prevent fleas and mites from bothering them.
    Hope this helps
    Jen

Last edited: Mar 30, 2015
  4. eagrbeavr

eagrbeavr Chillin' With My Peeps

Look up dust baths for chickens

5. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture