new to ducklings

Sophia_luvbug

Chirping
May 14, 2022
recently, I got to Pekin ducklings. This is my first time ever with ducks I’ve only ever raised Buttonquail and chickens, and they were both from self incubation. I bought the duck things already hatched when I go to pick them up they seem to scurry away, which is normal for new birds. But they seem to make a huffing noise like a quick exhale is that normal? Also, how old do they have to be before I can give the meal worms and veggies? The other weird thing is they’re fine when they’re being cuddled in held just not being picked up. They have a heat lamp there about one week of age I would assume but they seem to sleep on the complete other side of the cage where there’s no heat in the bed and gets a little wet from the water. Do I have to raise the heat lamp a little more cause it’s quite cold in my room and I feel bad making it any colder in there Brooder but I also feel bad that they’re laying in the damp area of the cage any advice is appreciated

recently, I got to Pekin ducklings. This is my first time ever with ducks I’ve only ever raised Buttonquail and chickens, and they were both from self incubation. I bought the duck things already hatched when I go to pick them up they seem to scurry away, which is normal for new birds. But they seem to make a huffing noise like a quick exhale is that normal? Also, how old do they have to be before I can give the meal worms and veggies? The other weird thing is they’re fine when they’re being cuddled in held just not being picked up. They have a heat lamp there about one week of age I would assume but they seem to sleep on the complete other side of the cage where there’s no heat in the bed and gets a little wet from the water. Do I have to raise the heat lamp a little more cause it’s quite cold in my room and I feel bad making it any colder in there Brooder but I also feel bad that they’re laying in the damp area of the cage any advice is appreciated