NEW TO DUCKS.......... Any Advice??!?!?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ChucktheChick, Feb 27, 2013.

1. ChucktheChick

ChucktheChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2012
    The coop
    Ok, I am totally new to ducks, just a few questions.....

What are the best breeds around children?

Will my ducks fight with my chickens if I put them in together?

Can I get a drake and have him in with my rooster with out them fighting?

Are ducks like chickens and will they lay eggs for eating without a drake, and if there WAS a drake, would the eggs be fertile?

Thank you all in advance! I am SO new to ducks, only had three two or three years ago, but I don;t know a thing about them! Well except they're cute....... lol. Thanks everyone! So greatful! I want some for my 5 year old and once we raise them for awhile, we are gonna try incubating some. Once that happens, you willl see another thread on about 50 million questions on how to incubate them! I am thinking just on going to TSC to get some ducks from there, but now I think I should order specific breeds online. Any advice on that? Thanks everyone for any advice!!!

Grace

2. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    You might try Metzer Farms

3. ChucktheChick

Sep 24, 2012
    The coop
    I have tried Metzers. The ducks I want are $7.50 each, and you have to get a minimum order of like 30 I think. I do not want to spend that much money....... do you have any answers for my questions? Thanks for the quick response!!!!!!

4. ChucktheChick

Sep 24, 2012
    The coop
    Oh I am SO sorry Kevin565! I didn't know you answered the questions!!!! So sorry.... I need to look harder! Thanks!

5. ChucktheChick

Sep 24, 2012
    The coop
    Thank you Kevin!

6. CricketR4

CricketR4 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2013
    Mebane, NC