New to everything

Jntnrmn

Songster
5 Years
Jul 7, 2015
Peru, Indiana
Hello, my name is Janet, I am completely new to the world of chickens, And I am grateful to have stumbled on to this site. It has proven quite valuable to me, I thank all of you for being such a knowledgeable site. I received 6 road island reds that were app 1 1/2 weeks old, they are now app 6-7 weeks old. They seem to be doing well. I also just received a small chicken that was being severely beaten up by hens and roosters from my uncle. I have no idea what breed or age he or she is but he or she is quite traumatized and has several injuries. Each day I think he or she is a little bit more relaxed then something startles it back to the nesting box. I suppose One day at a time applies to everyone...anyways, thanks again for offering so much wonderful information.
Ps: here is a picture of the newbie if anyone happens to know if it's a boy or girl and what breed I would be so grateful. I will continue to keep going through the pictures in the breed section trying to learn more about him or her.

I looks like you have a Game bird there, and it certainly looks to be a boy. :D Have fun looking around on BYC, be sure you check out your own state thread.