new to quail, building my first cage

Discussion in 'Quail' started by david225, Nov 14, 2013.

1. david225

david225 New Egg

Nov 13, 2013
    I'm new to quail and I'm going to start building my cage this weekend. I'm gonna start with a few coturnix quail. The cage base will be 4'x4' base with 2 or 3 story's tall. I've been reading on a lot of builds and get different answers to a few questions I have. Maybe you guys cab help me out some. Also from south Louisiana any tips or pointers will help. Thanks, David

1. How tall does the cage have to be? So the quail don't hurt them selves.

2. I want to put a slanted floor so the eggs roll to the front. How much of an offset for a 4' cage so the eggs won't break?

2. James the Bald

James the Bald Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2013
    Having built all of my own cages, I can say that I didn't make my cages any deeper than 24"... and here's why: If you have to remove your birds when you are getting ready to clean the cage, 24" is about as far back as I can reach. Also, 24" is easier to clean with a wire brush than 48" would be. Three of my cages are 24"x36". The flooring is 1/2" hardware cloth, reinforced with 5/16" rods underneath to keep the center from "sagging". I'm sure 1/2" x 1" fencing would be fine, but I couldn't find any when constructing my cages. The sides and top are made of 1" wire fencing and are connected using J-clips and J-clip pliers on the edges. I picked up a 5 tier shelf from Home depot, and using cup hooks and some light chain, I hung the cages from the bottom of the shelf. The front is lower than the back by 2" so the eggs can roll to the front. Below the cage, I used a sheet of plastic that I line with newspaper to catch the droppings. At the end of the week, I rollup the newspaper and toss it into my composter and spread fresh newspaper out.
    I hope this helps out.
    James
    Edited to add: my cages are 12" high.

Last edited: Nov 14, 2013
  3. WaterfowlWierdo