New to quail

Discussion in 'Quail' started by BulmanFarms, Aug 10, 2013.

1. BulmanFarms

BulmanFarms New Egg

Aug 10, 2013
    Hello everyone,

I am new to the quail raising world and am looking for a couple of pointers. I have a cage I built myself (attached pictures below), it is 3'x2'. I figured it could hold about 4-6 birds, but I really want more. How big of a cage would i need if I wanted a dozen or so? Also I live in Iowa and we have single degree winters, if I'm raising coturnix do I need to bring them inside? I want to sell the eggs and eventually the birds, then replenish stock; where do you guys sell your birds? I was thinking farmers market, but might develop a small business if I can find suppliers. Finally, do you guys use artificial nesting boxes or just give them material to lay on?

Thanks for any help you guys can give me, and sorry to make the first post such a long one!

P.S.. are the same eggs for reproducing the same ones for eating?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC and the quail forums!

The pen you have pictured would be fine for about 6 quail. If you want more birds, than double this size.