New to raising. Coop questions

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Mnswm2, May 11, 2011.

1. Mnswm2

Mnswm2 Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2011
    Duluth
    Hello all. I am new to this and have some questions that may be basic but haven't found the answers.
    Do you close a/the door to the coop at night so they stay in and keep everything else out?
    Have any of you used wood pellets (like for pellet stoves) on the floor of your coop?
    I see many of you use sand in your runs. Don't the chickens eat the grass/greens, bugs etc...?
    Do you keep any sort of light on in the coop at night?
    And last question. Does raising chickens attract a lot of rodents, mice, rats, etc?
    Thank you all for your help.

2. 3chimama

3chimama Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2010
    Pacific Northwest
    Hello and welcome from Oregon. I can answer some of your questions....yes, I always close my coop door at night otherwise the raccoons will get in there. I do not keep any lights on at night. Have fun!

3. Squishy

Squishy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2011
    Florida
    I'll get another one...
    The reason many people put sand in their runs... is the chickens diminsh the grass pretty quickly. A combo of them eating it.. and mostly them pooping on it in such concentrations.. is enough to kill the grass after a short length of time, depends on the amount and size of chickens... my 3 in the teenager Halfway House start to weaken the grass after a week... then we move it.

So most people agree the best solution with a permanent coop/run, to prevent a filthy-dirt-floor.. is just fill it with clean sand. The sand apparently, is easier to clean poo out of.. and the chickies seem to enjoy it... and don't get filthy from a dust bath.