New to the whole chicken thing!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TheChickenCameFirst, Aug 11, 2010.

1. TheChickenCameFirst

TheChickenCameFirst Chillin' With My Peeps

Greetings from the countryside of NH!

I am a 24 year old mother of one baby girl, and one puppy [​IMG] I'm looking to expand our family by a few... feathered friends!!

I'm new to the whole chicken thing, let alone this site! I'm a farm girl by birth, I grew up raising pigs, ponies and dogs, but chickens are new to me! I am now living on a three acre lot, and my husband and I would like to have a "Back-yard homestead". We have had a nice garden for the three years we have been living here, and we are planning on going bigger next year, and adding the fun of chickens.

We are having fun with all the planning, and my hubby is designing the coop, and planning on building it soon! I am hoping to be able to glean chickie wisdom off the wise chicken owners I hope to befriend here! Thanks in advance!

I'll see you out there. [​IMG]

2. cpegram

cpegram Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG] [​IMG] I am the same was around other animals growing up but not around chickens....I got cute little chicks this past spring and now they are 16 weeks old... I am just waiting on the first egg [​IMG] this forum has been awesome any question you have is answered!!! Oh and everyone is very helpful...........have fun

3. sheila3935

sheila3935 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    Stonington, illinois
    [​IMG] from Illinois. I am new too. Just got our chickens in May. Got our first eggs 3 days ago. Warning raising chickens is more addictive than crack. [​IMG] Since May I started with 2 RIR added 6 RIR got 7 barred rocks that 5 ended up being roos. 3 black australorps 1 ended up being a roo. 2 americaunas 4 naked necks and a little I dont know what named Princess. So be forwarned! [​IMG]

4. noodleroo

noodleroo Snuggles with Chickens

Apr 29, 2010
    Rockport, Tx