New to this Designed this coop as I went,What do u think? Any tips?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Joe.G, Nov 16, 2011.

1. Joe.G

Joe.G Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 16, 2011
    Eastern NY
    The coop is 6X8 with about 8 ft ceilings, I built it out of Rough Cut Pine for the Boards and Hemlock for the Batten, There is about three foot of space under the coop so the Chickens can come out of coop, I may build a bigger run but my plan is to allow them to free range, I live in farm country and have plenty of land.

I Plane to get 2 Guinea Hens, 1 Rooster and 9 Chickens of assorted kinds. I am new to this. I have a Rabbit Hutch Built for two rabbits off the front, I have a removable divider if they get a long they can be together if not they will be in there own area. I am not a carpenter I just got a pile of Lumber and started building. I have about $600.00 Dollars into it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. silkies4me

silkies4me Out Of The Brooder

Jun 1, 2011
    Edgerly Louisiana
    That is a really awesome chicken house! Not a carpenter my behind! I wish my husband could take lessons from you!
    [​IMG]:drool
    GREAT JOB!

3. Hunter0704

Hunter0704 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 8, 2011
    Wentzville, MO