Newbie alert!

Fluffychickens6

In the Brooder
5 Years
Aug 17, 2014
Sorry guys ^_^;; Im new to raising chickens (I just got them in august) They're now around 8 or 9 weeks old, they just moved into their chicken coop yesterday! They're doing great, but they wont go up their ramp, I've only seen Mocha (my rhode island red... I only have two chickens hehe :3 and another one named Omelet, who is a buff orpington i believe) fly up there, but she tends to start slipping and flys off. I was thinking of putting some rubber shelf liners up there.... but if there are better suggestions please tell me!

Another question... (hehe sorry Dx) I was thinking of clipping their wings since I live in the city and our neighborhood has a bunch of dogs and I really wanted to let them walk around the yard, but they can already fly higher than our fence. So I was thinking of clipping their wings, but I'm afraid I would do something wrong and my friend said a vet could do it.... but chickens aren't common where I live so.... how should I do this? Also... are they old enough for this??? they're pullets about now and Mocha is very fiddley and doesnt like getting held too much.

How steep is your ramp? Does it have cleats on it to keep their feet from slipping? You will probably have to teach them how to use the ramp... Try enticing them onto the ramp with treats. Or take the most easily handled one, and put her at the top of the ramp with a bowl of treats. The others should come up the ramp to join her. When you let them out, do they come down the ramp? You may need to give them ramp lessons: set a bird on the ramp, and guide her up the ramp a few times. I would not put shelf liner on the ramp... they might think it's a treat! Don't put anything in their space that you don't want them to eat.