Newbie Checking In

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 1okChickm0m, Aug 5, 2014.

1. 1okChickm0m

1okChickm0m New Egg

Aug 4, 2014
    NE Oklahoma
    Good morning, I am new to BYC and (relatively) new to keeping chickens. After reading through numerous BYC threads that came up on my "How do I _" and "What happens if _" google searches I decided to join.

My husband and I moved out to a rural acreage two years ago fulfilling a longtime desire to become more self sufficient and grow more of our own food.

My small flock started started with seven RIR girls, purchased as day old chicks, about a year ago. This past spring we added seven Buff Orpingtons (whom. I. love!!) including a feisty little roo. Then, as an anniversary gift my husband gave me with seven more lavender orpingtons; most of whom...are..roos. [​IMG] All our little orps are about 12 weeks and doing great. We enjoy them tremendously and I don't see us stopping with the buffs and lavenders.

We also raised and processed a small batch of jumbo cornish crosses last spring which was a wonderful experience and just recently bought a Brinsea incubator for the purpose of hatching some heritage meat breeds. Our first trial is due to hatch in about two weeks.

Everyone is housed in a combination of coops each with their own run; but they also spend much of their time free ranging on our acreage.

In addition to our birds we have four shih-tzus, a large garden where we grow heirloom veggies (naturally), and a pond; so we might perhaps welcome some ducks and geese at some point.

This is forum is a wonderful resource and I have already learned a lot. [​IMG]

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! Sounds like you have a nice farm and are putting together a fun flock! Sorry most of the Lavender Orps wound up being roos, hope the next set gives you mostly pullets! Good luck with the hatch!

3. Mountain Peeps