Newbie from Minnesota! Hot weather tips??

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MNChickenChick, Jun 9, 2016.

1. MNChickenChick

MNChickenChick New Egg

Jun 9, 2016
    Minnesota
    Hi Everyone! I am new to this whole chicken thing! I grew up raising ducks for 4-H but never got into chickens! It has always been my dream to have laying hens and my husband made that dream come true for me when he decided he was going to build me a beautiful chicken coop! We have 12 beautiful laying hens that are about 2 months old now. I ordered a variety from a local feed store and I am still clueless on what breed some of the hens are [​IMG] I guess I will learn as time goes on! I made sure that I ordered cold and heat hardy birds though since Minnesota weather can be kind of crazy! I am completely obsessed with them already and can see that this is going to be a life long hobby for me [​IMG] I searched this site religiously when we were contemplating adding chickens to our hobby farm and I just decided that it was time for me to make an account and become part of the community! It is going to be a hot hot hot weekend here in Minnesota, does anyone have any good tips on keeping the chickens cool during extreme heat?! I'm worried about them!

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined us. Ensuring that your birds have access to shade, adding ice to drinking water, and giving fruit such as water melon / grapes can help in cooling them down a little. Fans could be used for the coop also. If you type "how to keep chickens cool" in the search box, there should be some threads that will pop up.

You can post photos of your chicks in the What Breed or Gender is This? for advice as to exactly what breeds you have.

More generally, you'll find lots of info in the Learning Centre