Newbie from Rosenberg, Texas

dfriloux

In the Brooder
9 Years
Apr 8, 2010
I'm new to chickens (except when I was a young girl--many, many years ago)! I got my 5 girls (Ameraucanas) right before Mother's day (which makes them only 4 weeks old) and am totally smitten with their good looks and winsome ways! I bought Ameraucanas because of their ability to get along well with each other (and people) and because of their colorful eggs! I cannot wait to gather blue (or green or both) eggs out of my very own chicken coop! We have two dogs (a wicked little Yorkie and a very sweet Lab mix--both males) who would like nothing more than to have chicken for dinner.
hit.gif
Hopefully, that will change soon with proper training and lots of patience!

I'm an avid gardener and love to make potpourri from dried flowers out of my garden. MY DH can build and/or fix just about anything, plays the guitar like a Winfield winner and is looking forward to blue eggs from his own back yard! He's the one building the girl's new home!

Our two grandkids (5 and 7) are simply wild about the girls and are being very responsible with them. The 5-year old (Kitty) has really taken to them and is being a huge help with cleaning their water bottle and helping me put them up when it's time for us to go inside!! She knows not to chase them when they get loose (or to squeeze them when they try to get away--just let go!)