Newbie from South Wales

Raqsbanat

Hatching
Mar 6, 2016
Port Talbot UK
Morning all,
I've been keeping ex batt hens for nearly 4 years now and love every moment of it. I have four ladies, Murial, Maureen, Marlene and Madge, who are brilliant. However, I was recently given 2 Silkie chicks as a birthday surprise last week. The gift giver didn't think beyond how cute and fluffy they look at 5 weeks old and handed me them in a box. I've never cared for chicks, let alone a different breed so I find myself here needing LOTS of advice re caring for the chicks, feed, bedding, integration etc....The chicks are now nearly 7 weeks old and fab but I have to still figure out when they can go outside, I need to completely alter the housing as they wont fit in the coop I have now....I'm off out to buy a pet playpen to keep them in as the box they moved up into is now also too big. Any advice and help would be really appreciated xxx

Hi :welcome from Yorkshire UK

Glad you could join us here! The learning centre has some great articles that will really help you out. Here is the link if you have not already checked it out ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
You will need to wait untill your silkies are fully grown before you can add them to your exsisting flock. Silkies can be at the bottom order so you will need to watch that your hens do not bully them when they are together. I'm assuming at 7 weeks your silkies are unsexed, do you have a plan if both turn out to be boys? Here is a great article on intergrating new flock members ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/introducing-new-chickens-using-the-see-but-don-t-touch-method

Wishing you the very best of luck and enjoy BYC :frow

welcome-byc.gif

Thanks for joining us!

Hi and welcome to BYC - great to have you join us. You have some good pointers already so I'll just say a big hello!

CT