Newbie here worried and looking for info from the pros! :)

Faso

In the Brooder
7 Years
Oct 17, 2012
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Hello!

I see this is a popular question and I have searched and read a decent amount but, every situation is a little different so I wanted to ask about mine. :)

I first picked up 2 RIR chickens about 1 month ago. They were 6-7 weeks old. According to my calendar they are now 11-12 weeks old. They are full feathered and doing fine.

Last Sunday(11/4) my wife agreed to allow the family 1 more, since we wanted a plymoth rock chicken because they are so pretty! So we drove to someone's house whom was selling them and purchased 1. They said she was laying and she was born in February so she is older then the RIRs BUT, not that much older.(she is 8 months)

Since Sunday, we have not had 1 egg. Should i be worried that something is wrong and take her to the vet or is it normal that she may be a little stressed in her new home with new(younger chickens)?

They don't fight at all and the 2 RIR chickens seem to stay together alittle more often but I can tell they know the rock hen is bigger than them and they leave each other alone. Thankfully the rock chicken is very timid and nice. She doesn't bother tham at all and I can see she is much smarter.(She goes to sleep on time and goes back in the coop on time)

What should i do?

As a side note, i bought oyster shell and mixed it in with my start and grow. Once this bag of start and grow is done(1-2 weeks), i'm moving them all to the layena so i don't need to add anything.(I may throw grit on the ground in the run.

I appreicate any info you can provide!

Thank you!
Mike