Newbie... need info

makeitsnappy

Hatching
5 Years
Mar 11, 2014
HI,

I'm a newbie and I've had some trouble getting answers to these questions.... Can anyone answer them or let me know where I might find answers?

I live in Ontario, my city allows 'urban' chickens. I am considering it...

I have a 16 month old who is just starting to use the yard to play.... My concern is about mites/lice.... I have heard chickens do carry these pests, and although cleaning the coop frequently etc will help to manage them, they are basically par for the course....

Do they overrun your yard? Does this turn into an infestation? Is it unsafe for children to play in the yard?

The next question is about 'bedding' and removal. What do you use as 'litter or bedding' in the coop and how is it disposed of? Do you just clean it out and throw it in the garbage? We have a 1 bag limit per week so I'm wondering about better ways to remove it...

When you let them free range, do they poop all over the yard? Does it become an issue?

My biggest concern is whether this adventure, makes your backyard essentially unusable or like a barn yard...

I'm just trying to collect all the info I can before I make a decision. In a perfect world, I would buy a farm property but they are SO expensive here, I'm trying to bring country to the city lol...

any help/advice or readings would be so appreicated
Thanks

Hi there
frow.gif
and welcome to BYC!

Chickens don't all carry mice and lice. Wild birds do, chickens don't. If you start with mite free babies or birds, and keep it clean, you should never see a single mite.