Newbie Questions About Meat Birds

new2chickens2011

Songster
8 Years
Jun 11, 2011
Hello all, I am relatively new to chickens and have a small flock of laying hens. However, I know absolutely NOTHING about meat birds, but would like to raise a few. If there is any patient person who would like to answer my dumb questions......

1. What is your favorite place/hatchery to buy meat chickens?
2. Which breeds are for what? ie, I know Cornish X are the big meat chickens, but what other kinds do you like? What are Cornish Game Hens like?
3. What do you feed them?
4. How do you house them?

Thanks in advance!!! There will probably be more to come haha:D

Lot's of good information in the "sticky" thread at the top of this forum
smile.png

1. What is your favorite place/hatchery to buy meat chickens? I like Schlecht Hatchery in Iowa, but they're also close enough to ship chicks to me overnight.

2. Which breeds are for what? ie, I know Cornish X are the big meat chickens, but what other kinds do you like? What are Cornish Game Hens like? Cornish X are the main ones that are ready to process at 8 weeks or so. Cornish Game Hens are merely Cornish X that are about 4 weeks old or so. Other popular breeds are Freedom Rangers, which I believe get processed around 12-16 weeks or so, and other heavy breeds.

3. What do you feed them? Folks feed how they wish, with what their favorite brand or type of feed is. Many withhold feed for 12 hours, so the birds have feed with them for 12 hours during the day, then no feed available for 12 hours at night. Some feed higher percentage protein feed, some lower percentage. Organic feed is another option. I personally feed my local mill's 21% nonmedicated chick grower, and do not withhold feed. Cornish X eat a lot - about 15lbs or so per bird from beginning to end, in just 7-8 weeks.