Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dferg36, Jul 20, 2016.

1. dferg36

dferg36 New Egg

Jul 20, 2016
    Good afternoon!! I am very new at raising chickens and a sweet friend recommended this site. So here I am. I just acquired 4 hens and a rooster.... so on with the new adventure!

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join us here! Congratulations on your new flock :D What breed/s have you started out with? The learning Center is are at place to start for lots of super articles that are very helpful ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Wishing you the very best of luck with your new venture. Be sure to ask any questions, everyone here to help.

Enjoy BYC and all the chicken chat :frow

3. austrolover1

austrolover1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2015
    [​IMG]

4. dferg36

dferg36 New Egg

Jul 20, 2016
    Honestly I don't know. I think one of the hens may be an australorp. I received them through someone else and don't know how well they were taken care of. I'm trying to be as organic as possible. Built a coop, but want to have free range. I have skimmed through and read several posts here. I did buy DE to sprinkle on the chicken house floors. I believe a couple, if not all have scaly leg mites and I will start working on that immediately. I did wonder what would be best to use for worming, and how often. After reading some of the posts (like having tapeworms in the eggs) I want them taken care of quickly. Would you recommend worming now? I only want a few, and want them to be healthy.

5. austrolover1

austrolover1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2015
    Well if you have an Austrolorp hen you are lucky. my Black Austrolorps lay a ton!

6. Nofowlplay

Nofowlplay Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 29, 2013
    In the backyard
    [​IMG]BYC! Best site for all about chickens! [​IMG]

7. drumstick diva