Nice to meet you all!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JusticeFamilyFarm, May 27, 2011.

1. JusticeFamilyFarm

JusticeFamilyFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2011
    Southern California
    Hi all! I have been reading and learning a lot from BYC these past few weeks, preparing for some chickens. Now that we've got them, I thought I'd join and introduce myself!

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens? I am new to chickens- in high school I was in FFA and we raised some meat birds, but that was a long time ago and a much different experience than what I'm going for now. [​IMG] We got our chicks yesterday!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now? We have started out with 9 chicks.

(3) What breeds do you have? We have 5 Buff Orpingtons, 2 Black Australorps and 2 Silver Laced Wyandottes

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com? Bing search

(5) What are some of your other hobbies? Well, since we moved into this wonderful house on an acre our only hobby has been yardwork! But, we also love camping and doing fun stuff as a family! I just completed a Veterinary Assisting class, so I volunteer at a vet hospital here and there also.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share. My husband and I have 2 daughters, 3 and 4 1/2 years old. We also have an 8 month old puppy, our 9 new chicks and we're looking into getting a few goats. I am a stay-at-home mom who is looking into what I want to be when I grow up. [​IMG]

Last edited: May 27, 2011
  2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Welcome to BYC.

3. ChickInDelight

ChickInDelight Never an Empty Nest

Apr 27, 2011
    Browntown, VA
    Welcome! I am a first-time chicken and duck owner renting a farm in Northern Virginia. [​IMG]