NO EGGS....what gives???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Mrsfoote, Sep 24, 2010.

1. Mrsfoote

Mrsfoote Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2010
    Laurel Montana
    So a few weeks ago I bought some new laying hens...they are just barely a year old I got a Welsummer and a Silver Laced Wyandotte....both were laying eggs the wellie not a regularly but the Wyandotte every other day. First the Wellie stopped giving eggs....she's not molting, no bugs, then my Wyandotte stopped same memo no bugs no sickness no molting....any ideas...the weathers been really strange and I know days are getting shorter but sheesh.....

2. SmittenChicken

SmittenChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2010
    i'm pretty new to this, but are you giving them a lot of fruit, veggies, and other treats like that? I've heard that too many treats can make them stop laying because they don't get the right amount of protein. So maybe try giving them some yogurt, fish, cat food, etc as treats instead and see if that helps?

3. Mrsfoote

Jul 19, 2010
    Laurel Montana
    Alright I'll give that a try...

4. tuesdays chicks

tuesdays chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    stuart florida
    dont laugh at me but do they seem happy? or does it look like they are constantly looking for the rest of their flock? do they lounge around during the day like they haven't got a care in the world. it might be a delayed reaction to the stress of moving. did their combs go lighter? did you change their food. did they go from free range to confined? you need to look at all these things and i'm sure more.

5. Mrsfoote

Jul 19, 2010
    Laurel Montana