No More Eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by lmdengler, Jun 15, 2017.

1. lmdengler

lmdengler Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2017
    Upstate New York
    Good Morning All - I'm new to raising chickens and hoping you can advise. I have a coop for up to 18 hens. I started with 8 young chickens (March'17) and 1 rooster. No eggs of course. A week later a co-worker gave me one year old 4 egg layers. These 4 laid eggs every day for just over a week. This Sunday - everything stopped. No eggs. We also had a rapid rise in temps. We went from 60/70 to upper 80/90. Then one egg and I know it's from one of the young chickens because of the color. Does anyone have any thoughts? Is it the food? I feed them the Purina pellets for laying hens - the same feed the previous owner was giving them. Should I be giving them a supplement? I noticed that no one is gobbling down the pellets.

2. PD-Riverman

PD-Riverman Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2012
    Conway SC
    It happens, are you free ranging any? Do you check for eggs several times a day(making sure a predator is not getting them or the hens are not eating them? Does any of your hens cackle/make the noise they usually do when they lay a egg?

3. AlleysChicks

AlleysChicks Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Oct 10, 2016
    Ohio
    Do you give oyster shell also? Layer feed does not have enough calcium for hens.

4. PD-Riverman

PD-Riverman Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2012
    Conway SC
    I not disagreeing with you, all I can say is what I do. I been raising chickens for over 50 years and in the last 3 I have had a huge amount of layers--well 200+/-(according to when) and I rarely give oyster shells to them---only if I have a group/pen that is having soft shells which is rare. I use cheap 16% Dumor feed and have been for several years---rarely a soft shell egg. The Dumor for me seems to have all the calcium my layers need.

kwhites634 and WVduckchick like this.
  5. lmdengler