Noobie Chick keeper

lilchickengal

Hatching
5 Years
Apr 17, 2014
Hello everyone! I'm a mother of 4 daughters & have 1 beagle & married. We moved on 5 acres. With this land I set some goals. To eat better,be more active Outside, & teach the kids the same. I started a small spring garden. My first one ever!
I've been stalking your wonderful site for a few months. I wanted to wait until after I got my girls before I joined. All winter I have been reading magazines, books, & websites anything about chickens.We priced coops & were not happy at all with the sizes or prices. So the plan was to wait until husband could build a coop & run. In February I miscarried After my body Was healed I couldnt wait. So at the end of March we bought our first flock! I told husbandm I have faith if I buy the chickens the coop will come. So I guess I'm using the chicks to help deal with the loss Now. They make me smile & laugh. We have started to build the coop With the warmer weather. Im so excited to be apart of your group & to learn from everyone!

Hi there, I just joined too (as of 2mins ago haha)...nice to meet you!!
I read your story and I wanted to say that I am sorry for your lose and what you are going through, I hope that you will find peace and happiness.
My husband and I bought some (6) chickens and (2)ducks one month ago and have decided to start building a coop this weekend..haha We have a brooder* but they are starting to become really crowded, so time to expand. We also were not happy with the prices and size of the coops we have looked into, in fact we are still trying to come up with a coop that we both will like and that the animals will be happy with.
I am also excited to learn from everyone here and have knowledgeable chicken owners to help out a newbie like me..
Anyways, great meeting you and hopefully all goes well for you and your family!!
smile.png