Not sure if I should clean eggs...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by nica99, Nov 23, 2010.

1. nica99

nica99 New Egg

Nov 23, 2010
    This is my first year raising chickens and Ive read NOT to wash the eggs but they smell funny, like they are dirty or "poopy" but they are not. Ive tried to research why they may smell like that but have not found anything. I really dont like giving our eggs to people when they smell so stinky. Any ideas???

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    [​IMG]

I don't wash the eggs, the ones I keep for our use or the ones I sell. I haven't ever noticed an unpleasant smell.

What are you using in your nestboxes to line them?

3. Sphinx

Sphinx Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    Utah
    They say not to clean the eggs because it removes the bloom. However, if you are to clean the eggs, you should use water that's at least 20 degrees warmer than the egg because then things are less likely to permeate the membrane.

Now, being vain, and loving my colorful eggs, I don't like them to look all dirty.

So, if an egg is dirty, I wash it in plain water that is bathwater temperature. I do a quick rinse til clean. Afterwards I refrigerate it.

I'm happy because I have beautiful eggs that don't look or smell yucky.

So, this may not be the "right" thing to do, but it's what I do. So far, our eggs have tasted fine, and I'm proud to give them away to loved ones.

I figure none of our eggs last longer than a week to ten days, so I'm not overly worried about amazing longevity in my eggs.

4. mistyfeather

mistyfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    colorado
    [​IMG] um ....they come out of a chicken butt [​IMG] just keep the nesting material clean and dry ,it shouldn't be a problem, I wash soiled eggs in warm water and refrigerate

5. Uzuri

Uzuri Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2009