Now I'm confused.....!!???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by NestingHillsSC, Feb 5, 2013.

1. NestingHillsSC

NestingHillsSC Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2012
    Tennessee
    Reading about humidity levels. Everything I read including on here is different. Some say 50. Some say 85-87. Some say 60-65. [​IMG] What is it????

2. OR4-hmom

OR4-hmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2012
    Grants Pass, OR
    I'm new to incubating so others will better information but what are you hatching?
    Chickens, turkeys, quail, ducks?

Are you just starting the eggs or going into lockdown?

3. qtmomo112

qtmomo112 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 12, 2012
    Bahamas
    you can go to the learning center tab at the top of tha page and go into incubating and hatching eggs. it says 50% for the first 18 days then 70-80% at lockdown (last 3 days). there is also a section that discusses dry incubation. personally dry is what i use and have had an 80% hatch rate lately. read up on them and basically its personal preference. hope that helps you out.

4. NestingHillsSC

NestingHillsSC Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2012
    Tennessee
    Personal preference. Right. So hard. I have read everything. I guess I'm going to have to see whats right.

I have a wooded bator I bought from a friend. I just set 5 duck eggs on the top shelf today. Setting around 2 dozen RIR eggs tomorrow. The temp holds wonderful at 99.5. I just worry about the humidity. I have a gauge I took out of my cigar box. Don't think it works that great. Going to ace or wal-mart today to see if I can get some better for the humidity.

For everybody saying how important the humidity levels are there sure are a lot of different opinions. Seems to me that's just what it is. LOL. Just an observation.

[​IMG]

5. Bill 101

Bill 101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2013
    Oregon
    I'll take a stab at this ----